Curricular Standards

  • What are standards?

    At the core of every curricular unit and classroom lesson are standards.  Standards are not a “curriculum” but rather established learning goals for what students should know and be able to do at each grade level. Standards serve as the framework to build curriculum and help teachers ensure their students have the skills and knowledge they need to be successful, while also helping parents understand what is expected of their child.  Teachers base all learning on current standards and assess student progress on these standards.

    The Kingsway Regional School District (KRSD) is currently revising its curricula to embed the newly adopted New Jersey Student Learning Standards (NJSLS), which are required by the state to be implemented by the fall of 2021 & 2022.

    The NJSLS include Preschool Teaching and Learning Standards, as well as nine K-12 standards for the following content areas:

    21st Century Life and Careers
    Comprehensive Health and Physical Education
    Language Arts Literacy
    Social Studies
    Visual and Performing Arts
    World Languages

    The most recent review and revision of the standards occurred in 2014. However, the standards in language arts and math underwent an additional review in 2015 with adoption by the New Jersey State Board of Education in May 2016.